A stained glass pane of Wisconsin with counties in different colors

Preceptorship Awards

The Max Fox Preceptorship Award and the Sigurd Sivertson Medical Student Education Award recognize Wisconsin physicians for their critical role in educating medical students. Recipients are chosen by faculty selection committees.

The Max Fox Preceptorship Award

In 1969, Dr. Herman H. Shapiro, a preceptee of Dr. Fox, founded this preceptorship award in honor of his mentor. During his 46 years of practicing medicine, Dr. Max J. Fox greatly influenced the careers of some 4,000 physicians. It was his love of teaching that made Dr. Fox such an effective preceptor for University of Wisconsin medical students for over 25 years.

Each year the Max Fox Award honors one of the unheralded Wisconsin physicians whose dedicated service as a medical student preceptor has played such an important part in developing this outstanding University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

2023 Max Fox Award

Michelle Clark-Forsting, MD '12, is a family medicine physician at the Krohn Clinic in Black River Falls. Serving as a preceptor for 46 students since 2016, she ensures a clinical experience that encompasses the full spectrum of family medicine services and procedures.

Michelle Clark-Forsting

All Max Fox Preceptorship Award Recipients

Sigurd Sivertson Medical Student Education Award

This award is in recognition of Dr. Sivertson’s years of commitment to community-based medical student education. The importance of access to quality health care in the communities of Wisconsin and the contribution of community physicians to medical education are core elements of the programs of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. This award recognizes individuals that have contributed to the education of medical students throughout their careers.

Nathaniel Stepp

2024 Sigurd Sivertson Award

Nathaniel L. Stepp, DO, is a family medicine physician at Gundersen Health. Since 2014, he has served as a preceptor for the MD program, beginning with the primary care clerkship and continuing with the chronic and preventative care rotation, ambulatory acting internship rotations, and family medicine phase 3 electives. He is a great example of a family medicine physician whom students can emulate as they envision their own future.

All Sigurd Silvertson Award Recipients